Gig Guide

Event Information

  • Thu

    NI Music Prize Ceremony

    Ulster Hall



    Making an upgrade from its Mandela Hall home to the Ulster Hall, the NI Music Prize holds its sixth annual event on November 15. 

    Co-ordinated by the Oh Yeah Centre, it was formed to champion artists from Northern Ireland - most of whom have been independent artists to date - and fittingly, the list of winners is full of acts both established & independent, with the most recent winner being Joshua Burnside for his wonderful debut LP, Ephrata. Twelve albums have been shortlisted, with new categories for Best Single, Best Live Act and the Oh Yeah Contenders Award for emerging acts. 

    These are as follows:

    Album of the Year

    And So I Watch You From Afar - The Endless Shimmering
    Ash - Islands
    Bicep - Bicep
    Brand New Friend - Seatbelts For Aeroplanes
    Ciaran Lavery - Sweet Decay
    Girls Names - Stains on Silence
    Hannah Peel - Mary Casio: Journey to Cassiopeia
    Malojian - Let Your Weirdness Carry You Home
    Robocobra Quartet - Plays Hard To Get
    Ryan Vail - Distorted Shadows
    Snow Patrol - Wildness
    The Wood Burning Savages - Stability 

    Best Single

    Arvo Party - Liberté
    Ash - Buzzkill
    Brand New Friend - Girl
    Cherym - Take It Back
    Hot Cops - Decay
    Joshua Burnside - A Man of High Renown
    Kitt Philippa - Human
    Robocobra Quartet - You’ll Wade
    ROE - Hey Thomas
    Rosborough - Burn Blue
    Snow Patrol - Life on Earth
    The Wood Burning Savages - I Don’t Know Why I Do It To Myself

    Oh Yeah Contender Award

    Hand Models
    Rebekah Fitch

    Best Live Act

    And So I Watch You From Afar 
    Brand New Friend
    Robocobra Quartet
    Ryan Vail
    The Wood Burning Savages

    Performing will be Brand New FriendCiaran LaveryHannah PeelRoeRyan Vail Featuring Arco String Quartet and The Wood Burning Savages.

    Tickets are available from Eventbrite.

Back to Top ↑
  • The Thin Air TV