• 15 For ’15: Speed of Snakes

    Set to feature in physical form in our forthcoming January magazine, we continue 15 for ’15, a feature looking at fifteen Irish acts we’re absolutely convinced are going places in 2015. Over the first two weeks of January, we’ll be previewing each of those acts, accompanied by words from our writers and an original photograph by our wonderful team of photographers. Next up: Dublin duo Speed of Snakes. Photo by Alessio Michelini. 2014 saw the end of a band called Adebisi Shank, but this year the vibrations of the two remaining hatchlings of the snakes whose trails are the cosmos will reverberate along your consciousness like never before.…

  • Listen: Speed of Snakes – Speed of Snakes

    Not content to be in only one of the best bands in Ireland, Dublin-based electronic duo Speed of Snakes – comprising of Vinny from the now-deceased (still-warm) Adebisi Shank and Rupert from BATS – have unveiled an eponymous new track from their upcoming debut album of the same name. Having long been collaborating, with signs of a more extensive live & recorded output in 2015, their last release was hypnotic groover ‘Backbone of Night‘. Check out ‘Speed of Snakes’:

  • Watch: Speed of Snakes – Backbone of Night

    Over a year on from first rearing their head, Dublin superduo Speed of Snakes AKA Rupert Morris of BATS and Vinny McCreith of Adebisi Shank have unveiled the debut video, a decidedly OTT hostage-themed mini-film directed by Stevie Russell and produced by Michael Donnelly V and Jason Foran. Starring Darren Costello, Dara O’Neill and blue-haired lead lady Teodora Sutra, the video is an ambitious visual accompaniment to the track, a dark, skittering, synth-and-effects-led electro effort, hinting at some very promising things in the making for the pair.

  • Interview: Speed of Snakes

    You may know them as Rupert Morris (lead screamer, lyricist and guitarist in science-dance-metal troupe BATS) and Vinny McCreith (red-hooded bassist in Adebisi Shank and electronic solo artist as The Vinny Club) but together they are Speed Of Snakes. The Dublin-based duo recently premiered the first track from the sci-fi themed electro-rock project, as well as setting out the suitably silly backstory for the whole project: On the first day, 88 trillion years ago, the great snake Metatraxium created the Universe, the Earth and all the life upon it. Each species birthed from a succession of fantastic and horrifying eggs.…