Gig Guide

Event Information

  • Tue

    Northern Ireland Music Prize 2013

    Mandela Hall


    NI music prize

    The fourteen-strong shortlist for the inaugural Northern Irish Music Prize has been revealed.

    Organised by Belfast's Oh Yeah Music Centre, the new award is "aimed at recognising the great wealth of recorded music from these parts", focusing on albums released by Northern Irish bands over the last 12 months. The shortlist (below) is the result of votes from The Academy AKA several dozen industry professionals including music writers, DJs and editors amongst others.

    A Plastic Rose - Camera Shutter Life
    And So I Watch You From Afar - All Hail Bright Futures
    Anthony Toner - Sing Under The Bridges
    Axis Of - Finding St Kilda 
    The Bonnevilles - Folk Art And the Death of Electric Jesus
    Fighting With Wire - Colonel Blood
    Foy Vance - Joy Of Nothing 
    Girls Names - The New Life
    Jetplane Landing - Don't Try
    Le Carousel - Le Carousel
    Space Dimension Controller - Welcome To Mikrosector-50
    Tired Pony - The Ghost of the Mountain
    Trucker Diablo - Songs of Iron
    Two Door Cinema Club - Beacon

    The winner of the prize will ultimately be decided by a select panel of experts and announced at the ceremony in Belfast’s Mandela Hall on November 12, 2013. A selection of shortlisted acts will be playing live at the event, including Girls NamesA Plastic RoseThe Bonnevilles and more.

    Tickets are available for £11.25 from Ticketmaster. Doors open at 7pm.

Back to Top ↑