• Watch: A Plastic Rose – Garavogue

    Having been described as “simple, beautiful and moving” by Rock Sound (where it premiered, no less), Belfast-based quartet A Plastic Rose have unveiled the video for the latest single, ‘Garavogue’. Directed by  vocalist/guitarist Gerry Norman, it’s a wonderfully understated accompaniment to the track. According to the band, the song is “an ode to Sligo where Gerry and Ian grew up and the Garavogue is the river that runs through the town.” A Plastic Rose launch their album, Flickering Light of an Inner War, at Belfast’s Mandela Hall on Thursday, February 26. Watch the video for ‘Garavogue’ below.

  • Watch: A Plastic Rose – Move Islands

    Nottingham-based Northern Irish alt-rock quartet A Plastic Rose have unveiled the brilliantly adventurous, short film-like video for their new single ‘Move Islands’. Shot in Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, the video – directed by David Louis Lankester – features the Ian McHugh and Gerry Norman from the band going on a little journey in an attempt to make contact with something both unseen and unknown. Piqued your interest? Watch the video below. ‘Move Islands’ is the fourth single to be taken from the band’s forthcoming new album, Flickering Light of an Inner War, due out in February. The single itself is officially released…

  • TTA TV: A Plastic Rose Interview

    Having nipped home for a few days to play a triumphant set at Spectrum Festival, Nottingham-based alt-rock band A Plastic Rose kindly called into Belfast’s Voodoo late last week for an interview with Colm Laverty, touching upon their formation, the Nottingham music scene, their “epic” second album, Flickering Light of an Inner War, as well as the benefits and disadvantages of no longer being a band living in Belfast.  

  • Watch: A Plastic Rose – Autumn Eases You Into The Dark

    The follow-up to ‘Someone’s Daughter’, Nottingham-based alt-rock quartet A Plastic Rosehave revealed the video to their new single, ‘Autumn Eases You Into The Dark’. Directed by David Louis Lankester, the video was shot at the Irish band’s practice space at J.T. Soar, Nottingham. The single itself – recorded with Chris Coulter (who plays guitar in Jamie Lenman’s band and works with Arcane Roots) at Stakeout Studios in London – will be released via DiDimau and Third Bar on Friday, June 30. It will also feature on the band’s forthcoming new album, Flickering Light of an Inner War. A Plastic Rose will…

  • Spectrum Festival 2014 announced

    Featuring an eight-band bill comprised of both fast-rising and established homegrown talent, this year’s Spectrum Festival will take place at Belfast’s Speakeasy on Saturday, June 7. Headlined by Lisburn alt-rock maestros Mojo Fury and England-based quartet A Plastic Rose (above), prog rockers Kasper Rosa, alt-fock duo New Ancestors, five-piece The Late Twos, electronic trio Affleck, and indie pop bands Hurdles and Go Swim will also play the one-day festival, kicking off at 6.30pm. Admission is £12 and it’s £10 for students. Go here for the show’s Facebook event page. Check out the poster for the show below.

  • Smoke And Mirrors: The NI Music Prize

    Award ceremonies are a strange beast, a curious mixture of the repellently naff and the irresistibly enticing. Regardless of what they might claim, everyone loves a pat on the back, the feeling of being vindicated in front of one’s peers, and the opportunity to revel in a sense of achievement. There ain’t nothing wrong with that, and when someone wins an award, they can be humble and bashful, or belligerently arrogant, but the result is the same – you feel good. On the other hand, if you don’t win, it’s all gravy, you never respected the thing in the first…

  • Watch: A Plastic Rose – Kids Don’t Behave Like This

    Having relocated to Nottingham a couple of months ago, Irish quartet A Plastic Rose have re-released the video to their forthcoming single, ‘Kids Don’t Behave Like This’. Originally released bacj in March 2010, the re-launched single is taken from the band’s album Camera.Shutter.Life. It will be officially released on July 15 via Di Di Mau Records/Third Bar. Watch the video (featuring a whole host of familiar faces) below.