• Premiere: Bosco Ramos – Mayflies

    Belfast bass and drums punk rock duo Bosco Ramos made a sizable dent with the release of their fuzzed-out debut EP, Signs of Life, last year. Today, they’re back with their most emphatic single effort to date in the form of nuanced, unravelling alt rock blitz ‘Mayflies’. A song about “harnessing that thing which allows you to think for yourself and resist what you know to be wrong” it’s a typically groove-laden assault from Phil Brown (bass/vocals) and Callum McGeown (drums/vocals), rounded off with the pair’s progressively singular brand of melodic-yet-pummelling punk rock. In other words, we fucking love it. ‘Mayflies’ is…

  • Bosco Ramos – Signs of Life

    Fuzzy Belfast-based alt. punk bass & drum duo Bosco Ramos release their debut EP Signs of Life on March 31. Recorded and produced by Jonny Woods of R51 at Start Together Studios, it follows up on their debut double-A-side SNKSWM from early 2016. Phil Brown and Calum McGeown have a knack for an earworm, taking influenced from Death From Above 1979 and Torche-esque aggressively uplifting alt. rock, without hiding behind Americanised accents. Check out the video for lead single, ‘Rolling Sea’: Bosco Ramos launch Signs of Life at McHugh’s, Belfast on Friday, April 7, with support from Junk Drawer, Vulpynes and Gnarkats.

  • Watch: Bosco Ramos – Rolling Sea

    Let be known: Belfast’s Bosco Ramos make a lot of pleasant racket for a two-piece. Taken from their forthcoming Signs of Life EP – which is set for release on March 31 and launched at Belfast’s McHughs on April 7 – Phil Brown and Calum McGeown’s earworming new single ‘Rolling Sea’ is a three-minute burst of fuzzed-out, Death From Above 1979-tinged alt-rock that, pretty rare as it is in the genre these days, doesn’t bury itself behind a veil of Americanised vocals. We’re all for singing in one’s own accent here at The Thin Air. Created by Brendan Seamus and Billy Woods, here’s the single’s video.

  • Video Premiere: Bosco Ramos – SNKSWM

    Previously called GIRL, experimental Belfast duo Bosco Ramos are just one of a number of acts in the city making some first-rate fervent noise at the minute. Recorded with R51’s Jonny Woods at Start Together studio in late 2015, the pair’s seismic new single ‘SNKSWM (Sink Swim)’ – their first official release – is accompanied by a video courtesy of Niall Lawlor and Brendan Seamus. Have an exclusive first look at that below.