EP Premiere: Maija Sofia – The Sugar Sea


Having moved to London last year, Maija Sofia wrote and recorded The Sugar Sea during a solitary few months that came as a result of independently relocating to alien city. Dealing with the universal traits of loneliness and anxiety – but lightened by juxtaposition with Sofia’s empirical, fairytale mannerisms – the tracks on the Galway’s musician’s debut solo EP makes for a bewitching, almost voyeuristic listen.

Three of the songs (‘The Girl Who Pulled the Sun Down’, ‘Hail Mary’, ‘I Will Not Be Worth It’) were recorded in Mowlem Street Studio, Bethnal Green by producer James Hare (Women in Love, Milk White White Teeth) and he also plays drums, bass and synths on the tracks. Additional recording and production was done by Sofia in her bedroom.

With hints and shades of the likes of Mazzy Star and CocoRosie, we’re most certainly smitten. Check out our exclusive premiere of The Sugar Sea below.

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.