The Gloaming Announce Second Album Details


The follow-up to their Choice Music Prize-winning, 2014 debut album, The Gloaming have announced that they will release their second album, The Gloaming 2, on February 26 via Real World Records.

Effortless marrying traditional Irish music with jazz, contemporary classical and experimental sounds, the band have, for many, re-defined contemporarily Irish traditional music over the last couple of years. Their forthcoming second full-length was recorded in December past, produced by Thomas Bartlett (Sufjan Stevens, Glen Hansard) and engineered by Patrick Dillett, who has previously worked with David Byrne & St Vincent and the National.

As with their debut album, The Gloaming 2 will feature artwork from Robert and Shana ParkeHarrison. Check out its tracklising, as well as forthcoming Gloaming UK and Irish dates below.

1. The Pilgrim’s Song
2. Fáinleog (Wanderer)
3. The Hare
4. Oisin’s Song
5. The Booley House
6. Repeal the Union
7. Casadh an tSúgáin
8. The Rolling Wave
9. Cucanandy
10. Mrs Dwyer
11. Slán le Máighe
12. The Old Favourite

Tour Dates

26 February: London – Union Chapel (Sold out)
27, 28 February 1, 2 & 3 March 2016: Dublin – The National Concert Hall (Sold out)
21 September: Bristol – Colston Hall
22 September: London – Royal Festival Hall
23 September: Manchester – Bridgewater Hall
24 September: Edinburgh – Usher Hall
25 September: Birmingham – Symphony Hall

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.