Album Premiere: Fixity – The Things In The Room


Back in August we rather giddily shared two new releases from Cork experimental musician Dan Walsh AKA Fixity. Now, fourth months later, we’re very pleased to present a first listen to Walsh’s new, rather special four-track album, The Things In The Room.

Recorded in Malmo in February, the release features Walsh on drums alongside Swedish improvisers, tenor saxophonist Emil Nerstrand (Brigaden/Heavy Water/The Nod), guitarist Nils Andersson (Ljom/Ava) and bassist Fredrik Persson (Sista Bossen/The Good Morning Spider/Leo Kall/Cassus). Comprises four pieces composed by Walsh explored in collective improvisation with other individuals, each performance was captured in one take with everyone in the same space. Remarkable stuff. Few Irish artists push the invisible paramaters of sonic exploration quite like Walsh – a fact mercurially confirmed across these four tracks.

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.