Guide - News - Upcoming Irish Releases

A Litany Of Failures Vol. II Announced


Following the limited release of cross-Ireland Little L Records compilation, 2016’s A Litany of Failures – featuring Oh BolandShrug LifeThat Snaake and Junk Drawer – an expanded second edition has been confirmed for release on July 13.

Set to be released on 180g gatefold double vinyl, as well as through Bandcamp, Spotify and the usual outlets, it features 18 acts from Belfast, Cork, Derry, Donegal, Dublin, Galway & Limerick.

The DIY, co-op endeavour aims to provide an opportunity to perform outside each of their hometowns, shortening the mental distances between bands, and encouraging a cross-pollination of musical communities. Splitting costs between artists and the organisers, a sense of community has been forged to create a diverse document of often-overlooked new music from around the island, with the aim of providing a snapshot of independent, defiant identity in the oft-conveyorbeltised world of Irish music.

Featuring veteran indie-pop outfits No Monster ClubDott – who’ve just released an excellent new album – and Big Monster Love, or rising outfits like Belfast’s slack indie rock trio Hot Cops, Cork’s psych-flecked indie of Any Joy or Postcard Versions. Beyond the indie realm, there’s garage-noise in Nervvs, electronica in TuathAlien She‘s art-punk, or The Sunshine Factory‘s psych. It’s almost beyond doubt that you’ll find a new favourite, with nearly every track exclusive to the compilation.

Watch the video for the first track to be unveiled, Postcard Versions’ hangover cure of a ditty, ‘Sunday Mornings With Nate’:

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Dott – You Don’t Have
  2. Shrug Life – 2009

  3. Hot Cops – Belle Of The Tar Pits

  4. Ghost Office – Here Come The Elders!

  5. Junk Drawer – Year Of The Sofa

  6. That Snaake – [no comment]

  7. Nervvs – Entertainment

  8. Blue Whale – Coitus

  9. Tuath feat. Veil – Lark Song

  10. Big Monster Love – On Donabate Beach

  11. Postcard Versions – Sunday Mornings With Nate

  12. No Monster Club – Rabbit In A Hat

  13. Any Joy – Sucker

  14. Field Trip – Longlist

  15. Cherym – Take It Back

  16. The Sunshine Factory – Interloper

  17. Fonda – You Don’t Know

  18. Alien She – Shield

Launch dates are as follows:

Friday July 13th @ Roisin Dubh, Galway w/ Dott, Field Trip, Shrug Life, Junk Drawer

Saturday July 14th @ JaJa Studios, Dublin All Day BYOB 10 Band Extravaganza! Postcard Versions, Big Monster Love, Dott, Nervvs, Blue Whale, Shrug Life, That Snaake, Junk Drawer, Ghost Office, Field Trip

Thursday July 19th @ The Art Department, Belfast w/Hot Cops (solo), Tuath, Junk Drawer, Ghost Office, Shrug Life, That Snaake

Saturday July 21st @ The Roundy, Cork w/Any Joy, The Sunshine Factory & Nervvs

Saturday July 27th – Pharmacia, Limerick w/Fonda, That Snaake (plus support tbc)

Stream the compilation here:


is Gig Guide Editor & guitarist/vocalist with Junk Drawer, PigsAsPeople & Sister Ghost. Appreciator of Neil Young, vinyl, black coffee, Richard Linklater, light & shade.