Shortlists For Northern Ireland Music Prize Announced


The shortlists for this year’s Northern Ireland Music Prize have been announced.

At this year’s awards ceremony at Belfast’s Ulster Hall, the following NI acts will vie for Album of the Year, Single of the Year, Video of the Year and Live Act of the Year.

Album of the Year

And So I Watch You From Afar – Jettison
Dark Tropics – Ink
Hannah Peel & Paraorchestra – The Unfolding 
Invaderband – Peter Gabriel
Leo Miyagee – Act III
Mob Wife – Eat With Your Eyes 
Phil Kieran – Nightride
Robocobra Quartet – Living Isn’t Easy
Rory Nellis – Written & Underlined
SOAK – If I Never Know You Like This Again
Thom Southern – Plaza
Wynona Bleach – Moonsoake

Single of the Year

Beauty Sleep – Go
Dani Larkin – Heron Until We’re Free
Ferna – Wasting
Joshua Burnside and Laura Quirke – Rana the Fortunate
Robocobra Quartet – Wellness

Live Act of the Year

Junk Drawer
Leo Miyagee
Problem Patterns
Wynona Bleach

With the Album of the Year being decided by a panel on the evening of the awards, the public can vote on the Single of the Year and Live Act of the Year from 10am on Tuesday, October 4th. The shortlists for Video of the Year and ATL Artist of The Year will be revealed soon.

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.