Mons Olympus Announce Debut Album


Having recently played a Thin Air Tuesday Throwdown at Lavery’s in Belfast, Northern Irish quartet Mons Olympus have announced details of their forthcoming debut album.

Produced by their guitarist Stephen O’Hagan and Nathan Murray, (minus single ‘Critical Mass’, which was recorded by Michael Mormecha) the eight-track Vampyroteuthis will be launched and officially released at Belfast Empire Music Hall on May 4. Blending the Rory Dee-fronted foursome’s potent amalgalm of space-rock and neo-prog, it’s sure to establish the band as one of the country’s leading exponents of cosmically-inclined, riff-fuelled alternative rock.

With more shows to be announced, Mons Olympus will play the following dates off the back of the release.

May 4th: Empire Music Hall, Belfast
May 6th: Sin É, Dublin
May 13th: Cornstore, Draperstown

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.