RTÉ Choice Music Prize Shortlist Revealed


RTÉ Choice Music Prize has announced its ten-album shortlist for 2017. The prize selects the best Irish album of the previous calendar year.

The shortlist is as follows:

Come On Live Long – In The Still
Marlene Enright – Placemats and Second Cuts
Fangclub – Fangclub
Lankum – Beneath The Earth and the Sky
James Vincent McMorrow – True Care
New Jackson – From Night To Night
Otherkin – OK
Fionn Regan – The Meetings of the Waters
Ships – Precession
Talos – Wild Alee

The winner will be chosen during a live event, which will be held at Vicar Street in Dublin in March.  This is the 13th year of the Choice Music Prize, which awards the winning act €10,000. The prize is sponsored by the IMRO and IRMA, with RTÉ on board this year as a media partner for a second year running. A shortlist for Irish Song of The Year will also be announced in the coming weeks.

Last year’s prize was won by Rusangano Family for their debut album Let The Dead Bury The Dead.

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.