2021 Choice Music Prize Shortlist Revealed

CMP2021_AOTY_16.9_Artists-2 (1)

The shortlist for the 2021 RTÉ Choice Music Prize Album of the Year has been announced.

Presented in association with IMRO and IRMA, the shortlist is yet another strong genre-spanning affair, featuring the likes of Bicep, For Those I Love, Kojaque, Villagers and Elaine Mai. Check out the full shortlist below.

BicepIsles (Ninja Tune)
Mick Flannery & Susan O’NeillIn the Game (Rosaleen Records / Rosa Productions)
For Those I LoveFor Those I Love (September Recordings)
Orla GartlandWoman on the Internet (New Friends Music)
HousePlantsDry Goods (Bone China Records)
KojaqueTown’s Dead (Soft Boy Records)
Elaine MaiHome (Elaine Mai)
Saint SisterWhere I Should End (Saint Sister)
Soda BlondeSmall Talk (Velveteen Records)
VillagersFever Dreams (Domino)

“The sheer quality of this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize shortlist highlights the incredible standards now being reached routinely by musicians and artists in Ireland across a range of genres,” said Adam Fogarty, Head of Music at RTÉ 2FM. “While it has been an extremely challenging year for the music industry, so many Irish artists, not just those who have made the shortlist, have used this time, much of it in the absence of live shows, to produce some incredible music.”

As in previous years, the winning act of this year’s prize – the 17th to date – will walk away with €10,000. The winner will be announced at Vicar Street in Dublin on Thursday, March 3. Tickets for the event – which will feature performances by several shortlisted acts TBA – go on sale this Friday, January 7.

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.