• Several More Acts Confirmed For Longitude 2014

    Now in its second year, several more acts have been announced to be play this year’s Longitude Festival at Dublin’s Marlay Park from Friday, July 18 to Sunday, July 20. Irish acts James Vincent McMorrow (pictured), Hozier and Le Galaxie were confirmed alongside Roosevelt, Bondax, Cyril Hahn, Julio Bashmore, John Talabot, Bonobo, Sam Smith, Chvrches, Haim, Bastille, Haim and Bastille. Several more acts will be announced on Thursday, February 6 ahead of tickets on sale the following day at 9am. See below for the official list of confirmed acts.

  • Watch: VerseChorusVerse – No More Years

    Having been busy planning the release of his eagerly anticipated solo album, Belfast-based singer-songwriter Tony Wright AKA VerseChorusVerse has unveiled the video to his new single, ‘No More Years’. The second track on the forthcoming release, Wright said “The video is a blatant metaphor and also a slight poke/twist at all those singer-songwriter videos that appear to be shot in the woods. I, myself, have been guilty of this too. A fine tradition started by Bryan Adams with that Robin Hood tune, with sci-fi references in there to satisfy my inner and outer nerd.” Wright’s debut album will be released…

  • Stream: The Wood Burning Savages – Flu Season

    Having just announced that they’ve been selected to play at the Derry Music Trail as part of Other Voices in February, Derry four-piece The Wood Burning Savages have released a wonderfully understated new track titled ‘Flu Season’. Written only two days ago, the song – propelled by fingerpicked guitar shapes, frontman Paul Connolly’s increasingly earnest delivery and impressively unravelling vocal harmonies – was recorded in the band’s wood shed just yesterday. Stream/download the track (for free) via Soundcloud below.

  • Watch: September Girls – Green Eyed

    One of the highlights from their recently-recently debut album, Cursing The Sea, Dublin noise-pop band September Girls have unveiled the video for their new single, ‘Green Eyed’. The track – inspired by the call-and-response vocal style of Look In My Diary by Reparata and the dreams – the song is about being in a relationship with someone who is untrustworthy, and feeling trapped. Win tickets to see September Girls in Belfast’s Menagerie Bar on Saturday, September 1 here. Watch the video – directed by the band’s guitarist, Jessie Ward, and shot in an evening in September Girls’ basement rehearsal space…

  • Watch: Future Islands – Seasons (Waiting On You)

    Baltimore synthpop outfit Future Islands have released a video for ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’, a cut from their forthcoming album Singles. Directed by longtime collaborator Jay Buim, the video features lots of typical cowboy imagery – as well as actual cowboys – and certainly taps into singer Sam Herring’s admission that the song is “…about love, letting go, learning from your mistakes and always feeling that pull….as time goes by and seasons change.” Elsewhere, the band’s trademark waves of pensive electronic sounds shine through, whilst time seems to have softened Herring’s signature rasping vocals – but that seems somehow fitting…

  • Watch: Fox Jaw – Kerosene

    Coinciding with downsizing their name from Fox Jaw Bounty Hunters, Limerick band Fox Jaw have unveiled the video to their punchy new single, ‘Kerosene’. Released on February 28, the single – taken from the five-piece’s forthcoming album, Ghost’s Parade – is propelled by a strutting alt-rock groove and raspy vocal delivery that combine to excavate wonderfully malevolent undercurrents. Watch the video – directed by Shane Serrano from the band – below.

  • Stream: Ed Zealous – Diamonds For Eyes

    Belfast-based quartet Ed Zealous have released ‘Diamonds The Eyes’, the latest single to be taken from their forthcoming debut album, Wired. A typically starry-eyed slice of dancefloor-flooding electro-pop, the three-and-a-half minute track comes after the release of the singles ‘Medicines’, ‘Thanks A Million’ and ‘Telepaths’. Check out our exclusive track-by-track preview of Wired here. Wired will be officially launched at Belfast’s Limelight 2 on Thursday, February 20. Go here for the show’s Facebook event page and win tickets to the show here. Stream ‘Diamonds For Eyes’ via Bandcamp below.

  • Watch: Versives – Just Once

    Having impressed us with their Harpoon EP early last year  – and the top-drawer ‘Two Enemies‘ before that – Cork electronic duo Versives will release their eagerly-anticipated debut album, Prussian Blushes, via Blind Faith Digital in February. This fact has afforded us an opportunity to revisit the pair’s latest single, the majestic yet minimal three-and-a-half minute track ‘Just Once’. Recorded “during some cold and dark afternoons in a little cottage in the countryside” it really extols the virtues of Alan Matthews and Kevin J. Power’s hugging brand of restrained and evocative electronica. Check out the video for the song below and check…

  • Watch: Effy – Move

    Kildare-derived, Dublin-based electronic two-piece Kieran Craddock and Peter Fleming AKA Effy have unveiled their latest single, ‘Move’, a nigh on seven-minute unravelling electronic odyssey. Speaking to us about the track, the duo said, “The track is actually a couple months old at this stage and as with all of our tracks it came about through messing about and shit in the studio.” “Our Disco’s Dead release [Forth/The Look] should be out real soon and we’ll be announcing details of our next EP shortly after, the pair continued. On top of that we’re trying to gig as much as possible”. Watch the video for…

  • Watch: Phantogram – Nothing But Trouble

    Taken from their forthcoming new album, Voices, New York electronic rock duo Josh Carter and Sarah Berthel AKA Phantogram have released their intoxicating new single, ‘Nothing But Trouble’. “Don’t listen to me, I’m nothing but trouble,” Berthel warns on the chorus, an ensnaring electro-pop refrain oddly reminiscent of Eels’ ‘Bus Stop Boxer’. Over the course of four minutes, the track’s fizzling, skittering, synth-driven spell imparts a exceptional nocturnal pulse that promises some great things for the pair’s upcoming second studio album. Voices  is released via Republic on February 18. Check out ‘Nothing But Trouble’ via YouTube below.