• Irish Tracks of the Week – November 20th

    As we creep steadily closer to the end of an… interesting year, things are still very much delivering on the Irish music front. Doubling up as twelve cases in point, here are the very best tracks from the island released this week. Myles Manley – Shiteshow Cometh the Softies by Myles Manley Ryan Vail & Ruth McGinley – Chrysalim Licehead – Perfect Death Forever Perfect Death Forever by Licehead Thumper – Topher Grace (Senu Remix) Dani Larkin – Samson & Goliath Meljoann – Trophy Wife F.R.U.I.T.Y. – Not Quite Exceptional Not Quite Exceptional by F.R.U.I.T.Y. Sal Dulu – B feat.…

  • Irish Tracks of the Week – June 26th

    This week’s round-up of Irish songs features new music from the wonderful, fast-rising likes of CMAT, Silverbacks, Thumper, Ailbhe Reddy, Nevvv, Goodtime John, and the comeback single from Belfast’s Charles Hurts. Silverbacks – Up The Nurses CMAT – Rodney Charles Hurts – Living Under Lockdown Squashed by Charles Hurts Thumper – Topher Grace Ailbhe Reddy – Time Difference Nevvv – Passionate/Stupid Goodtime John – Black Sunrise Hang On by Goodtime John

  • Kate Tempest and Princess Nokia Among First Names Announced for Body & Soul

    Kate Tempest and Princess Nokia are among the first names announced to play this year’s Body & Soul. Returning to Ballinlough Castle in Co. Westmeath across June 21-23, the annual Irish summer festival will also play host to The Blaze, Talos, SOAK, Kruder & Dorfmeister, Dream Wife, Modeselektor, Coely and Kiddy Smile, Santi Gold, Baikal, Monolink, The Drifer, Oshun, Mano Le Tough, Wyvern Lingo, Laoise, Tulla Céilí Band, whenyoung, The Murder Capital, Meltybrains?, Thumper, Niamh Regan, Lil’ Dave and The Clockworks. The first announcement was made in the Big Romance in Dublin this evening. Many more acts are to be announced. Tickets…

  • Premiere: Joey Gavin – Rolf/Run

    No stranger to provocative, accessibly experimental indie rock, the latest two-track from Thumper‘s Joey Gavin is called Rolf/Run, released on 7″ through prolific Irish DIY label Little L Records (Shamir, Homeshake, Alex Calder, Syd Kemp etc.). It’s a catchy psych-pop number whose acid-dripped King Gizzard-lite melody belies a more acerbic message, veiling a darkness even The Zombies would nary have attempted. It’s framed, as you might have guessed, around the shortcomings of institutional hierarchies, and the abuse of power that they’ve given rise to, without forgetting to check ourselves for letting it happen; evenly, he also explores the shortcomings of the witch-hunt that can, and does take place, it’s…

  • Video Premiere: THUMPER – The Loser

    Set to play their first ever all-ages gig at BIMM Institute’s showcase at Workman’s Club on April 1, Dublin quartet THUMPER unveiled their fuzzed-out latest single, ‘The Loser’, at the start of the month. Arguably the foursome’s finest effort to date, it’s a starry-eyed burst of noise-pop harking back to Blur’s more riotous earlier efforts, filtered through the the Dublin band’s own brand of bubblegum scuzz. The first single to be taken from the band’s upcoming POP! GOES THE WEASEL EP, have a first look at Alan McCarthy’s tripped out visuals for the track below.

  • Video Premiere: THUMPER – Lonesome Freak

    With their collective Christmas tree still up, Dublin noise-pop band THUMPER have re-emerged at the very tail-end of the year with Stephen Patrick Allen’s video for their single ‘Lonesome Freak’. Featuring footage from some of the band’s favourite live gigs of 2016, including Other Voices, Electric Picnic, KnockanStockan, Whelan’s and more, it captures precisely the kind of thing that you’ll get if you pop along to the band’s show with Otherkin at Whelan’s tomorrow (New Year’s Eve) night. Have a first peek at the video below.

  • Video Premiere: THUMPER – Dan The Man

    More than most at their level, Dublin noise-pop quintet THUMPER have a knack for concocting some serious contagion with their melodies. Half-sounding like a b-side from Blur’s Modern Life Is Rubbish the band’s new single ‘Dan The Man’ is certainly no exception to that rule. Accompanied by an aptly tripped-out video by Alan McCarthy, the band have returned with ‘Dan The Man’, the second single to be taken from their Little L Records-released EP, Magnum Opuss. Have an exclusive first watch of the video below.