Articles - Features

Playlist: Choice Music Prize 2016


With The Gloaming proving well-deserved victors last time round, tonight’s Choice Music Prize is – as has almost always been the case with the award – an extremely tough one to call. Selected by an Irish industry judging panel, the following albums – perfectly diverse in score and vision – will all compete to walk away with the prize at Vicar Street later today.

Girl BandHolding Hands with Jamie (Rough Trade)
HamsandwicHStories From The Surface (Route 109A Records)
Gavin JamesBitter Pill (Warner Music Ireland)
JapeThis Chemical Sea (Faction Records)
Le GalaxieLe Club (Universal Music Ireland)
Colm Mac Con IomaireAnd Now The Weather (Plateau)
Roisin MurphyHairless Toys (PIAS)
SoakBefore We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)
VillagersDarling Arithmetic (Domino)
Young WonderBirth (Feel Good Lost)

Held in association with IMRO and IRMA, the winning act will walk away with €10,000.

Check out our Choice Music Prize Spotify playlist below.

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.