Articles - Features

One of These Albums Will Win The NI Music Prize Tonight

Untitled design

Much like the RTÉ Choice Music Prize every year, the annual Northern Ireland Music Prize is almost always too close to call. This year is no different. Going online for the first time due to social distancing restrictions, this year’s shortlist is a luminous, no-filler reflection of the state of independent music in the North right now.

From the Americana-tinged alt-folk of Mark McCambridge aka Arborist to the considered electronica of Phil Kieran; the shapeshifting indie rock of Belfast threesome Careerist, to the ruminative pop of Kitt Philippa, it’s a list that also features stellar albums from Our Krypton Son, Herb Magee aka Arvo Party, Malojian, The Darkling Air, Joel HarkinThe Lost Brothers, Junk Drawer (full disclosure: of which I’m a member) and previous winner Ciaran Lavery.

Who’s going to take the prize and £3000 home? Watch the official live stream here from 8pm tonight and check out all the shortlisted albums in full below.

Arborist – A Northern View

Arvo Party – Love Above All

Careerist – Weird Hill

Ciaran Lavery – Plz Stay, bb

Joel Harkin – Never Happy

Junk Drawer – Ready For The House

Kitt Philippa – Human

Malojian – Humm

Our Krypton Son – Modern Ruins

Phil Kieran – Life Cycling

The Darkling Air – Ancestor

The Lost Brothers – After The Fire After The Rain

is the editor of The Thin Air. Talk to him about Philip Glass and/or follow him on Twitter @brianconey.