• Video Premiere: Swimmers Jackson – Stripped Away

    London-based Dublin musician Niall Jackson aka Swimmers Jackson returns with a video for his current single ‘Stripped Away’ featuring a very familar setting to many. The stripped back performance was shot in the iconic Peel Wing at London’s BBC Broadcasting House by Tom Andrews with post production by Ryan Phillips. Speaking about the video, Jackson said: “I kind of got nostalgic for all those sync performances BBC used to do in the 70s and 80s (Old Grey Whistle Test/Top of the Pops) with cheesy star filters and cutting edge effects for the time. I actually feel like I’m watching VH1…

  • Stream: Le Galaxie – Day of the Child

    Le Galaxie are back with ‘Day of the Child’ the second single off their forthcoming album, released today and currently streaming on Spotify. The neon inflected dance track features MayKay from dearly departed Fight Like Apes on vocals and some Soft Cell inspired synths, perfectly encapsulating their signature sound.  Having appeared as a guest on previous tracks and a huge favourite at their live gigs, this release coincides with the news of her officially becoming the fifth member of the group. Their highly anticipated album ‘Pleasure’ will be released on April 6 on the Red River Label.

  • Stream: Fight Like Apes – Pretty Keen On Centerfolds

    Having first reared its head as a demo back in early 2013, Fight Like Apes have unveiled ‘Pretty Keen on Centerfolds’, the first single from their eagerly-anticipated third studio album. Bursting with the band’s immediately recognisable, ridiculously catchy synth-pop shtick, it’s a hugely promising first release from the MayKay-fronted quartet’s as-of-yet untitled new album, set for release this year.The album will be released fives on from the Andy Gill-produced The Body of Christ and the Legs of Tina Turner. Stream ‘Pretty Keen on Centrefolds’ below. Single artwork by Loreana Rushe. [soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/197601133″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

  • Watch: Jetplane Landing – Beat Generation… Ha!

    Taken from their fourth studio album, Don’t Try, Derry alt-rock quartet Jetplane Landing have unveiled the video to their forthcoming single, ‘Beat Generation… Ha!’ Referencing beat literature exponents such as Gregory Corso and Lawrence Ferlinghetti, the video features cut-and-paste text from the likes of Corso’s poem ‘I am 25’, poetry works including A Coney Island Of The Mind by Ferlinghetti and press articles on the literary pioneers. ‘Beat Generation… Ha! is released on December 2nd via Smalltown America. Watch the video below.

  • Watch: Travis Is A Tourist – Shaking

    Having spent September in Nashville collaborating with fourteen other UK-based artists and singer-songwriters, former Colly Strings frontman Travis Gilbert AKA Travis Is A Tourist has unveiled the video to his latest single, ‘Shaking’. Featuring Gilbert and quite a bit of wool, the video is probably best described a slightly less psychedelic and hectic take on Mojo Fury’s recent video for ‘Origami Bird’. Available as a free download from Thursday, the song is a full band acoustic effort that suggests extremely promising things in the making for Gilbert. Travis Is A Tourist will play the Belfast’s Engine Room gallery on Linenhall Street…

  • Stream: Grave Lanterns – Creepin’ Up On You

    New-fangled Cork-based band Grave Lanterns have released a stream of the decidedly unearthly new single, ‘Creepin’ Up On You’. Calling themselves “4-piece garage dust from an 8-track mind”, the four-piece – featuring Cork psych rock Altered Hours‘ frontman Cathal Mac Gabhann – have very aptly described the track as a “samhain swan song”. Organ-led, the spectral imprint of the likes of Bauhaus, Link Wray and Nick Cave are perfectly accounted for over the track’s four minutes. ‘Creepin’ Up On You’ is officially launched on Halloween night upstairs at The Pavilion, Cork. Stream or download the track for free below.

  • Stream: Sea Pinks – Exploded View

    Set to feature on a forthcoming double A-Side, Belfast-based surf punk band Sea Pinks are streaming their new single, ‘Exploded View’. Primed for release via CF Records on November 5, the double-single is limited to 100 records and includes downloads of both tracks as well as two separate new songs. You can pre-order it here. Stream ‘Exploded View’ via Soundcloud below.

  • Stream: Rory Nellis – Mind Control

    When he’s not making sweet music with his band, Belfast-based indie pop foursome Seven Summits, Rory Nellis is also a fully-fledged songsmith in his own right. Whilst we somehow missed the initial release of this last week, we’ve been spinning his new track ‘Mind Control’ over and over this week, ever more in anticipation of a full-length album, expected to be released early next year. Featuring Phil D’Alton of Master & Dog on keys – who also recorded and mixed the single – and Dave Kennedy on drums, stream the track via Bandcamp below (and purchase for it a paltry…

  • Watch: Blue Whale – Was

    Belfast jazz-punk quartet Blue Whale have released the video for ‘Was’, the lead single from their forthcoming self-titled EP. Crated by Stuart Sloan, the video splices footage of the band performing the track with an array of contorted, skittering, warped images. The band’s self-titled EP will be releaesd on 7″ vinyl on Friday, September 20 at Culture Night Belfast, when the band will be performing a “rooftop tour” in the City Centre from 4-8pm followed by their EP launch party in St. Anne’s Car Park at 10pm. Watch the video for ‘Was’ Below.

  • Watch: New Ancestors – A Hard Heart

    Originally from Belfast, Glasgow-based alternative folk pop duo New Ancestors have unveiled the video to their latest single, ‘A Hard Heart’. Illustrated and animated by Debbie Montgomery, the video is a simple but wonderfully poignant accompaniment to the two-minute track, exquisitely propelled by restrained fingerpicking phrases, subtle ambience and the dual harmonies of Jonny Solari and Andrew Cameron. Watch the video below.